March 24th, 2016 saw the Portage Curling Club's annual wind-up and awards ceremony take place, as well as a rousing send-off for Team Canada (Senior Men's).
It was a fantastic night and
 a packed house to send off Team Canada as they prepare to represent Canada in Karlstad, Sweden at the World Senior Curling Championship from April 15 - 23rd, 2016.

DSC 2623 

DSC 2625

DSC 2646 DSC 2647

 President of the PCC, Jared Munro, spoke about this team's accomplishments so far:

  • Between the four of them they have had over 50 appearances at Manitoba Provincials.
  • They went 21-2 in their first year together up to winning the Canadian title. Presently, going into their second Canadian championships, they are 30-2, having gone undefeated through Provincials this year.

DSC 2630 

DSC 2631

Mayor Irvine Ferris brought greetings and well wishes from the City of Portage la Prairie and presented the team with caps (left photo courtesy of

Irvine  DSC 2638

A preliminary cheque of the proceeds of the night was presented by Jared to the team.

DSC 2639

Dean spoke first and then Dale on how they felt about the send-off and the support they have been shown. Well done everyone!

DSC 2643 DSC 2645

50/50 tickets were sold throughout the night, and wouldn't you know it? I got a pic of the winning ticket being sold! Congrats to Carol Stewart & co on their win. The other 50%, $337 worth, went straight to the team.

DSC 2658

Once the festivities finished upstairs, the finals of the ladies and men's evening leagues started downstairs. Since we had a piper there, he piped the teams in and the teams were introduced to the spectators (thanks again to Trent (Canad Inns) for rigging up the sound system in the ice shed). Congrats to everyone who made it to the finals!

Who has time to look at Grandpa Michie when theres a PIPER in the house-  DSC 2657

Ice photo 1  Ice photo 2HVanstone Team Davidson  spares

There were many spectators who showed their support to those on the ice and then the games began!

DSC 2655  DSC 2656

DSC 2659

 Once done, winners were presented with their awards.

Portage Ladies Curling Club Awards

Tier 1 Portage Ladies Curling Club points winners, Team Rintoul. Betty Weir (2nd), Jacki Rintoul (skip), Dawn Moxham (3rd), missing Tammy Davey (2nd)

DSC 2671


Tier 2 Points & Playoff winners, Team Sadler. From lead to skip: Evelyn Rheaume, Robin Young, Pat Stoneman, Diane Sadler

DSC 2674


Tier 1 Playoff Champions and recipients of the Merline Darbyshire Memorial Trophy - Team Hulme. Jo-Anne Inglis, Beth McKinnon, Bea Mozdzen, Heather Hulme 

This team will represent the PCC at next year's Travelers Club Championship Zones.

DSC 2675 


The Gena Matiation Award is given to a member of the Portage Ladies Curling Club who has demonstated great sportsmanship. This year's recipient is Pat Stoneman. The award was presented by PLCC President Stephanie Northrup (r) and PCC President Jared Munro.

DSC 2666


The PLCC Goodwill Award is presented to a member of the Portage Ladies Curling Club who has demonstrated good sportsmanship and has contributed, through her time and effort, to the activities and fellowship of that club. This year's recipient is Robin Young (r) and the award was presented by Pat Stoneman (l).

DSC 2670


The Lauree Clifford Outstanding Service Award is given to member in good standing of any league of the Portage Curling Club who has made a considerable contribution of time and energy for the benefit of the club. This year's winner comes from the Portage Ladies Curling Club and LaReine League, Evelyn Rheaume.

The award was presented by Lauree's family: husband Charlie and daughter Kellee.

DSC 2678

Men's awards

Monday Night Points winners - Team Jordan. Lindsey Jordan, Daryl St Goddard, Greg Jordan, Doug Jordan (Tom Henry missing).

DSC 2687


Wednesday Night Points winners - Team Munro. Jared Munro, Drew Shewfelt, Shane McCulloch, Jason Dobbin (missing Brad Young)

DSC 2683


Men's Club Champions and Munro Cup Winners - Team Michie. Cody Brown (left), representing Munro Farm Supplies presented the trophy and keeper awards to Dean Moxham, Dale Michie, Ron Brooks, Doug Thompson. This team will represent the PCC at next year's Travelers Club Championship Zones.

DSC 2686


Men's Consolation Champions - Team Davidson. Roy Sheilds, Paul Davidson, Gordie Zahara, Ed Dzikowski (missing Rick Bowser).


Thank you to everyone who came out for this event and to everyone who curled in any league throughout the year. Let's make next year bigger and better than ever! See you at the Last Chance bonspeil, April 1, 2, 3rd. 

 Other photos from throughout the night. If you'd like any of the photos full sized for printing, email the office and we'll make that happen!

DSC 2624 DSC 2629 

DSC 2649 DSC 2667  DSC 2672  DSC 2673 DSC 2676 DSC 2689



This year's wind-up & awards ceremony will take on an added twist as we will be having a fundraiser for our Canadian Men Senior Champions and recognizing all the great volunteers who make our Club successful.

March 24, 2016

Tavern United

Buy tickets at this link or you can also call 857-5411 to reserve them by phone up until March 19th at midnight. 


~~5:45pm - supper starts - chicken, salad, baked potato, garlic bread stick, and a beverage.

~~6:30 - send off for the 2015 Canadian Men's Senior Champions - Randy Neufeld, Dean Moxham, Peter Nicholls, and Dale Michie, pictured below after they won in Edmonton and in their off-ice Team Canada jackets - who will be playing in the World Senior Curling Championships 2016 in Karlstad, Sweden from April 15 - 23rd. Their first game is against the home country of Sweden April 15th at 5:30pm local time.

2015SrMenChampsinEdmontonafterwinsmall  2015SrMenCanadianChamps

~~After the send off the finals for the evening men's and ladies leagues will be played. Volunteers will be acknowledged throughout the evening.

~~Awards will be handed out after the game are finished.curling.figurine.small

Download the award criteria and nomination form for the Lauree Clifford Outstanding Service Award and hand in to the office by March 13th.

Download the poster for this event for sharing on social media and printing.

All proceeds from the fundraiser and 50/50 draw will go to offset costs for Team Neufeld in Sweden. Bring home the gold! :)



Member Login

Have a question?